Home / CRICKET / Ravichandran Ashwin’s 4 for 8 in 4 overs the best spell by an Indian in T20Is

Ravichandran Ashwin’s 4 for 8 in 4 overs the best spell by an Indian in T20Is

After Ravichandran Ashwin and Ashish Nehra took out the first five batsmen, Ravindra Jadeja was responsible for the sixth wicket when he affected a direct hit before he then took a wicket of his own to help India reduce Sri Lanka to 54 for 7 in the third and deciding Twenty20 International (T20I) at Visakhapatnam on Sunday. Ashwin finished with figures of 4 for 8 in four overs — the best spell by an Indian in T20I cricket. He wrecked Sri Lanka early with figures of 4 for 5 in 3 overs, it was a consolidated bowling effort from the others that ensured India never let Sri Lanka off the hook. Live Cricket Scorecard: India vs Sri Lanka 2015-16, 1st T20I at Visakhapatnam

Ashwin had Niroshan Dickwella out stumped, Tillakaratne Dilshan out LBW, Dinesh Chandimal out caught by Hardik Pandya, and Asela Gunaratne out caught by Suresh Raina at leg slip. He had 4 for 5 including a wicket-maiden in his first three overs. Nehra bowled Milinda Siriwardana for 4 before Jadeja’s direct hit dismissed Seekkuge Prasanna for 9 off 7 balls. Jadeja then bowled Dasun Shanaka for 19 off 24 balls. Live cricket blog and updates: India vs Sri Lanka 2015-16, 2nd T20I at Ranchi

India won the toss and elected to field first with an unchanged team. This meant that Pawan Negi, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Manish Pandey, and Harbhajan Singh continued to sit on the bench. Ashwin ensured that India’s decision to bowl first was validated by taking 3 for 5 in his first two overs. Sri Lanka made three changes to their side, with Charamara Kapugedera, Gunathilka, and Kasun Rajitha missing out. Dilhara Fernando and Niroshan Dickwella came into the side, as did Asela Gunaratne.

Copyright : cricketcountry 
Link : http://www.cricketcountry.com/news/ravichandran-ashwins-4-for-8-in-4-overs-the-best-spell-by-an-indian-in-t20is-400738

About Anny Xee

Check Also

West Indies axe Sammy, name Carlos Brathwaite new T20 captain

Briefcase 1 Sammy recently quit as the T20I captain 2 Brathwaite has been named as ...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *